861 Hvolsvöllur (dreifbýli)
+354 487 8845
Skógar Museum was founded in 1949 and nowadays hosts a collection of more than 18,000 regional artifacts, exhibited in three different spaces.
It is located 150 km east from Reykjavík just off Ring Road 1 and 30 km west of Vík. The Museum was especially known for the curator Þórður Tómasson who is retired by now.
Skógar Museum is divided into three parts:
- The Folk Museum which offers a huge variety of artifacts displayed on three floors: fishing, agriculture, textile and natural history, as well as artifacts dating back to the Viking Age.
- The Open Air Museum where visitors can catch the atmosphere of times long gone and experience how Icelanders lived through the centuries in farms made from turf and stone.
- The Technical Museum tells the story of technology and transportation and its development in Iceland in the 19th and 20th century.
It also houses a souvenir shop and the Skógakaffi cafeteria.
For group reservations and guided tours please email email@example.com or call +354 487 8845.
Guided tours are available upon reservation in English, German and Icelandic for groups of ten or more people. Sometimes there is the possibility to have guided tours in French, Spanish, Norwegian and Danish. The guided tour takes place in the Folk Museum and is usually 20 to 30 minutes introduction of the Museum, the artifacts and the daily life of the people that used them. Guided tours are available from opening time up to one hour before closing time.
Skógar Museum opening hours: June 1st to August 31st: 09.00 - 18.00 September 1st to May 31st: 10.00 - 17.00 Closed the 24th of December.
Skógakaffi cafeteria opening hours: Mai: 11:00 to 16:00. June to August: 10:00 - 17:00. September: 11:00 - 16:00. Open over the winter season upon group reservation.