Iceland opens up to fourteen additional countries

Ásgeir Ingvarsson

Starting July 15th residents of fourteen additional countries will be allowed to travel to Iceland.  This change is made in accordance with updates to EU and Schengen rules aimed at limiting the spread of Covid-19.

On the new list of countries are: Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South-Korea, Montenegro, Tunisia, Thailand and Uruguay.

Iceland is already open to residents and nationals of EEA and EFTA states, including the UK and the microstates of Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and the Vatican City.

Like other Schengen countries Iceland also allows foreign students to enter the country regardless of their nationality or country of residence, and the same applies to foreign specialists who come to Iceland for work-related purposes.




8 °C


Later today

5 °C

Partly cloudy


5 °C

Warning: Yellow More