Björk and Teitur up for Nordic Music Prize

Two Icelanders feature in the twelve-name shortlist for the 2016 Phonofile Nordic Music Prize to be awarded on 3 March.

Björk Guðmundsdóttir has been nominated for her album Vulnicura and Teitur Magnússon for his album 27.

Björk’s Vulnicura is praised as “a truly majestic piece of work” whose “emotional honesty [will] have you hooked in a second”. Teitur’s 27 features “striking, melodic and thoughtful tunes, which explore the important emotional issues of day to day life in a direct and powerful way”.

The remainder of the short list is made up of three albums from Denmark, three from Norway, two from Finland, and two from Sweden.


Partly cloudy


-2 °C



-1 °C



-5 °C

Exchange rates

USD USD 121.11 EUR EUR 137.80
GBP GBP 155.70 DKK DKK 18.46
NOK NOK 14.15 SEK SEK 13.44
CHF CHF 121.50 JPY JPY 1.10
ISK price of selected currencies, according to the official exchange rate of the Central Bank of Iceland. Updated daily.