Icelandic crime series published in UK

Snowblind, by Ragnar Jónasson.

Snowblind, by Ragnar Jónasson. Photo: Ewa Sherman

UK book publisher Orenda Books has purchased the rights to three more books by Icelandic crime novelist Ragnar Jónasson.

In a deal signed at the Frankfurt Book Fair today, the UK publisher has secured the rights to publish three more novels in Jónasson’s ‘Dark Iceland’ collection, a series of crime stories set in and around the small town of Siglufjorður in North Iceland.

Orenda Books published the first book in the series – Snowblind – earlier this year and the second, entitled Nightblind in English translation, is due out at Christmas. Snowblind went to no 1 on the e-book charts in Amazon UK and Australia.

Author Ragnar Jónasson.

Author Ragnar Jónasson. Photo: Sigurjón Ragnar

This deal means that Jónasson’s entire ‘Dark Iceland’ collection so far will be published in English in the UK.

The first of the new three books – Blackout – will be published in autumn 2016, with the further two titles following later.

We are honoured to have had the opportunity to introduce this wonderful author to English readers, ” says Orenda’s Karen Sullivan. “With the second in the series, Nightblind , published in December, it seems the right time to commit to the series, which cleverly and quite beautifully updates the traditional Golden Age mystery to create a series of tightly plotted, atmospheric, chilling and almost timeless whodunits.”

Jónasson’s ‘Dark Iceland’ collection is translated into English by Quentin Bates.

The crime series is set in the North Iceland town …

The crime series is set in the North Iceland town of Siglufjörður. Photo: Sigurður Ægisson


Light drizzle


7 °C



10 °C



8 °C

Warning: Yellow More