Nordlyd quartet – Free concert

Nordlyd quartet – Free concert

Nordlyd quartet – A Finnish celebration from a Nordic quartet. In 2017 it is 100 years since Finland gained its independence. This is celebrated by the newly formed Nordlyd Quartet with a tour of all the Nordic countries with music by Jean Sibelius og Kaija Saariaho. The quartet consists of four students from the Norwegian Academy of Music, and collaborates with Voksenåsen Summer Academy. The quartet’s name Nordlyd – Northern Sound – plays on the phenomenon of Nordlys – the Northern Lights, and reflects the origin of its members – Norway, Sweden and Finland. Aliisa Neige Barrière violin Alexandra Peral violin Ester Forsberg viola Andreas Øhrn cello Kaija Saariaho (1952- ) Terra Memoria for string quart Jean Sibelius (1865-1957) Voces Intimæ for string quartet op. 56



This event has passed or has no registered occurrences.
The Nordic House}


The Nordic House
Sturlugötu 5
101 Reykjavík