Classics in the Moorland-Knock on the door

Classics in the Moorland-Knock on the door

Towards new sounds

 From Hamburg the flutist Martin Gonshorek and pianist Stefan Matthewes play a program that sheds a light on the development of the romantic era, toward modernism, especially within French music, albeit not in an entirely French program.  The flute played a new part in the music of that period, and in this concert we present some of the works that helped establish that new role. The piece that changed everything, L´après midi d´un faune, is followed by Prokofiev´s Sonata in D-major op. 94, then Bilitis by Debussy, a piece inspired by twelve poems by Pierre Louys, followed by Sonata in A major by César Franck which was written for the Belgian violin virtuoso Eugène Ysaÿe.

 Admission fee is ISK 2500, ISK 1500 for senior citizens and disabled; free for students, 25 years old and younger. Tickets are available at the entrance.

About the 2015 concert series

The concert series Klassík í Vatnsmýrinni is organised in collaboration between the Icelandic Soloist Society and the Nordic House. The aim of the series is to give the audience a chance to hear performances by the very best among Icelandic classical musicians, as well as guests from abroad, in solo concerts, recitals and chamber music. There is an emphasis on Nordic and international cooperation and of the five concerts taking place in the season 2016 – 2017, two are with artists from abroad and three with Icelandic musicians. 




This event has passed or has no registered occurrences.
The Nordic House}


The Nordic House
Sturlugötu 5
101 Reykjavík